FTDNA (Family Tree DNA) My Origins Autosome Test for Ancestry

I know I should have smiled!  Me, myself sitting outside of the archaeology museum earlier this year, at Sofia, Bulgaria.South-West Europe.

FT-DNA Family Finder My Origins

I haven't posted much coherent lately, because, well, my Life changed, and consequently I've been pretty busy, in a very good way.  However, my exploration into genetic genealogy hasn't ceased at all.  Indeed, I took advantage of the Family Tree DNA (FTDNA) Summer sale, and bought the USD $79 Family Finder test.

No need to send a fresh sample, this was the third test from the sample that I sent to FT-DNA's US lab earlier this year.  FTDNA Family Finder is an autosomal DNA test only, without haplogroup results - but I've tested my Y-DNA to death already, and I know my mtDNA haplotype.  The services supplied include relationship matching, raw file download, and an Ancestry analysis named My Origins.  Hey, for that price, in GBP £, that is el cheapo good value.  And it's a good test, with about 690,000 SNPs tested, against 23andMe's current 577,382.  Smoking.

My prime interests was in 1) comparing the raw data with 23andMe on GEDmatch, and 2) seeing what FTDNA My Origins has to say about my autosomal DNA for ancestry.

So what did I find.

The former, comparing raw data files, I've done.  But briefly, the calculators DO vary for the two files, but not by very much - except maybe, that on Eurogenes K13, the nearest GD on my FT-DNA file is closer to correct - putting SE English closer this time than South Dutch.

The latter?

Family Tree DNA reported My Origins as:

100% European.

Broken into:

36% British Isles
32% Southern Europe
26% Scandinavia
6% Eastern Europe

This is a pretty bizarre result.  36% almost hits dead on my 23andMe Ancestry Composition (spec) result for British Isles (32% before phasing, 37% after phasing with one parent).  Perhaps they are using a similarly biased reference?  I'll blog on that soon as well.

26% Scandinavian is massive.  23andMe AC spec reported 7% before phasing, and 2% after phasing with one parent.

That's pretty much my first report for Eastern European, except for DNA.land's claim of some Balkans (hence my excuse for the above photograph).

but .... 32% Southern Europe, really?  Let's go there next, off to Southern Europe now:



views

Tags