Loki the whippet

I don't know what to call our canicross pack / team?  Technically I bought both dogs for Anita, so they are more her dogs.  How about Team Elmewych?  Anyway, today's pack profile is Loki.  Named after the Norse mythological figure / deity, Loki is a twelve month old whippet.  Although he gets excited before a run, and puts his little heart into it, he can be quite the couch potato at home.  He didn't show an awful lot of aerobic interest as a youngster.  While his team mate was jumping ditches from a pup young age - Loki was a bit slow off the take.  Still, he is making up for it now.

In the house, a couch potato, but also the dominant dog, the alpha dog - terrorising Flint, although Flint is twice his size and packed with muscle.  If I give the dogs a chew each, it isn't long before Loki is sitting guard over both chews.

On the canicross line, Loki is top lead dog.  He really has taken to it well, likes to pull ahead.  My no.1 canicross hound.  Not much upsets him, except large lorries, puddles, and drain covers

Off lead in the field.  As I said, he was a slow developer, but now charges after Flint, almost keeping up with the big saluki lurcher, jumping across wide ditches, a cracking little dog, although without Flint or a crow to chase, I suspect that he'd slow down a bit.  When Flint wanders too far - Loki returns to my side, trots next to me, looking concerned that Flint is out of sight.

Not a bad dog at all.

views

Tags